Manually Purge Historical Data

You can purge historical data from Commander when you want, instead of on a set schedule.

  • Commander performance may be impacted while the data purge task is running. Consider running the purge when the system isn't busy.
  • You can also create multiple tasks if you need to purge different types of data at separate times.

Access:

Configuration > System

Available to:

Commander Role of Superuser

  1. Click the Maintenance tab.
  2. On the Maintenance page, click Start Wizard.
  3. In the Purge Data wizard, on the Choose Data Type page, select one or more of the following data types:
    • Alerts — Messages generated by Commander when an event or task that has been started requires attention. Alerts are sent out by Commander when a policy has been triggered.
    • Events — Records of activities that have occurred in your virtualized infrastructure. You can see all events that have taken place through the information panel accessed through the historical Events tab.
    • Historical Reporting Data — Events generated before the cloud account was added to Commander; used to produce reports.
    • Tasks — User-initiated actions that appear under the Tasks tab.
    • VM Performance Data — Data that Commander displays on the Performance tab for a VM. If you purge this data, performance data for the VMs in your virtualized infrastructure will be set to "unknown" for the relevant dates. For more information, see Monitor Performance of VMs, Hosts, Clusters.
    • Billing Records — Records of current VM costs, generated nightly from values entered in cost models. Billing records are also generated automatically for retrieved historical events. Billing records form the basis for reports such as the VM Billing report and the Cloud Migration Planner report. For more information, see Configure Cost Models.
  4. To specify the age at which data purge is triggered, select values from Purge all data older than.
  5. Click Next.
  6. On the Perform Maintenance page, review the summary information, then, to purge the data immediately, select Confirm purge and click Purge Now.

    From this page, you can also select Schedule, which will redirect you to the Purge Historical Data page of the Configure Scheduled Task dialog. For information on how to proceed with this selection, see Schedule Historical Data Purges.

Related topics