Manage users

Here are the different ways you can manage users.

Each user in Snow requires a separate user account. User rights and available functionality are then adjusted by assigning one or multiple roles to each user.

Find users

  1. On the Manage menu, select User management and then select Users.

    A list with all users in your system and their current roles appears.

  2. Search for users by filtering or sorting:

    • Select criteria to sort alphabetically, that is, User name, Email address, Roles, or Status, or Last activity to sort into latest or oldest activity.

    • Start typing filter criteria, that is, user name, email address, role, or status, in one of the filter boxes.

      The filtered result is displayed as you type.

Invite users

  1. On the Users page, select Invite users.

    The Invite users side panel appears.

  2. Enter the users' email addresses in the Email addresses box. Separate the email addresses with space, comma, semicolon, tab, or line break.

    Note

    You can invite a maximum of 70 users at the same time.

  3. Optionally, select the roles that you want to assign to the users from the Assign roles list.

    Note

    If the role is not in the Assign roles list, you have to create it and then redo the first steps of the Invite users procedure:

    1. Select Create custom role.

      The Create custom role page appears.

    2. Create a custom role.

    3. Start over from first step in the Invite users procedure.

  4. Either select Send invitations or manage the roles before sending the invite:

    • If you want to send the invite to all added users with the selected roles assigned, select Send invitations.

      A message confirming the number of invited users is displayed.

    • If you want to assign different roles to different users, or assign roles that are already assigned to existing users to new or existing users, continue with the next step to manage the roles before sending the invite.

  5. To manage the roles before sending the invite:

    1. Select Advanced invite.

      The Advanced invite page appears.

    2. Select the users that you want to manage the roles for.

    3. On the Actions menu, select Manage roles.

      The Manage roles side panel appears.

    4. Select the checkboxes for the roles that you want to assign to the users and clear the checkboxes for the roles that you want to remove.

      The checkboxes selected with a checkmark show the roles assigned to all selected users.

      The checkboxes selected with a blue square show the roles assigned to one or several, but not all, of the selected users.

    5. Select Confirm.

    6. Optionally, to remove users from the invitation list:

      1. Select the users that you want to remove.

      2. On the Actions menu, select Remove users.

        A dialog box appears where you have the option to confirm or cancel the removal.

      3. Select Remove.

        A message confirming that the users have been removed is displayed.

    7. Select Next.

      A summary of the users and their assigned roles is displayed.

    8. Select Send invitations.

      A message confirming the number of invited users is displayed.

Invite users from CSV file

  1. On the Users page, select Advanced invite from the Invite users menu.

    The Advanced invite page appears.

  2. Select Select users by importing email addresses from CSV file.

  3. Select Choose file and browse to select the CSV file that you want to import.

    Note

    You can invite a maximum of 70 users at the same time.

  4. Define if the first row in the CSV file is a header.

    • If the first row is a header, select First row is a header and then select the column to import from the Column to import list.

    • If the CSV file does not contain a header row, clear First row is a header and then select the column to import from the Column to import list.

  5. Select Next.

  6. Select the users that you want to assign roles to.

  7. On the Actions menu, select Manage roles.

    The Manage roles side panel appears.

  8. Select the roles that you want to assign to the users and select Confirm.

    The roles are added to the selected users.

  9. Optionally, to remove users from the invitation list:

    1. Select the users that you want to remove.

    2. On the Actions menu, select Remove users.

      A dialog box appears where you have the option to confirm or cancel the removal.

    3. Select Remove.

      A message confirming that the users have been removed is displayed.

  10. Select Next.

    A summary of the users and their assigned roles is displayed.

  11. Select Send invitations.

    A message confirming the number of invited users is displayed.

Re-invite users

  1. On the Users page, select the users that you want to re-invite.

  2. On the Actions menu, select Re-invite users.

    A message confirming that the users have been re-invited appears. Email messages are sent to the users with instructions for setting up their accounts.

Enable or disable users

When a user logs in for the first time, their account is automatically enabled.

  1. On the Users page, select the users that you want to enable or disable.

  2. On the Actions menu, select Enable or Disable.

    A dialog box appears where you have the option to confirm or cancel the action.

  3. Confirm to enable or disable the users.

    • Select Enable.

      A message confirming that the users have been enabled is displayed.

    • Select Disable.

      A message confirming that the users have been disabled is displayed.

Delete users

  1. On the Users page, select the users that you want to delete.

  2. On the Actions menu, select Delete users.

    The Delete users dialog box appears where you have the option to confirm or cancel the deletion.

  3. Select Confirm delete.

    A message confirming that the users have been deleted is displayed.