Manage users

This section describes how to manage users in Snow Device Manager.

View user

View information about a specific user in the User overview view.

To go to the User overview view:

  1. On the Users menu, select Search for user.

  2. Type a keyword in the Search for user box and then select the user from the drop-down list.

    Information about the user and the user's devices is displayed in the User overview view.

Or, alternatively:

  1. In the Domain browser, navigate to the user group for the user.

  2. On the Users tab, select the user from the list of users.

    Information about the user and the user's devices is displayed in the User overview view.

Edit user

To edit the user information, such as first name, last name and phone number:

  1. Navigate to the User overview view for the user.

  2. Select Edit.

    The Edit user dialog appears.

  3. Edit the user information

  4. Select Confirm.

Add device to user

To add a device to a user:

  1. Navigate to the User overview view for the user.

  2. On the More options MoreOptionsMenu.jpg menu, select Create device for this user.

    The Create a single device view appears.

    Information about the user is automatically fetched from the Active Directory.

  3. Add a new device to the user according to Create a single device.

Reset password for user

To reset the password for a user:

  1. Navigate to the User overview view for the user.

  2. On the More options MoreOptionsMenu.jpg menu, select Reset password.

    An email with a new password will be sent to the user.

Lock or unlock user

A user account can be unlocked if the user accidentally has locked the account by repeatedly entering wrong user credentials in the mobile client.

It is also possible to prevent a specific user from enrolling the user's device by locking the account.

To lock or unlock a user:

  1. Navigate to the User overview view for the user.

  2. On the More options MoreOptionsMenu.jpg menu, select Lock or Unlock.

Move user

A user can be moved to a new user group if it is a native user, that is, if it is created in Snow Device Manager. Users that are synchronized from Active Directory can not be moved.

To move a user to a new user group:

  1. Navigate to the User overview view for the user.

  2. On the More options MoreOptionsMenu.jpg menu, select Move user.

    The Move users dialog appears.

  3. Select the new user group in the domain hierarchy.

    A preview of what packages will be removed, unchanged or added to the user, when the user is moved, appears. 

  4. Select Confirm.

    The user is moved to the new user group. The package settings for the old user group are removed from the user's devices, and the package settings for the new user group are assigned instead.

View associated device

To view information about a user's device:

  1. Navigate to the User overview view for the user.

  2. Click on the device in the device list.

    Information about the device is shown in the Device overview view.

Allow user to synchronize with Microsoft Exchange

To allow all devices for one or more users to synchronize with Microsoft Exchange:

  1. In the Domain browser, navigate to the user group to which the users belong.

  2. On the Users tab, select the check boxes for the users that are to be allowed to synchronize with Microsoft Exchange.

  3. On the More options MoreOptionsMenu.jpg menu, select Allow user.

    A confirmation window appears.

  4. Select Allow users.

    All devices for the selected users are allowed to synchronize with Microsoft Exchange

Block user from synchronizing with Microsoft Exchange

To block all devices for one or more users in a user group from synchronizing with Microsoft Exchange:

  1. In the Domain browser, navigate to the user group.

  2. On the Users tab, select the check boxes for the users that are to be blocked from synchronizing with Microsoft Exchange.

  3. On the More options MoreOptionsMenu.jpg menu, select Block user.

    A confirmation window appears.

  4. Select Block users.

    All devices for the selected users are blocked from synchronizing with Microsoft Exchange

Roles and permissions management

In the Roles and permissions management view, a user with the Domain admin role can set roles and path permissions for other users.

On the Category menu, select Users, and then select Roles and permissions management.

View user permissions

Go to the Roles and permissions management view to see a list of users in the domain, and their assigned roles and path permissions. All users having higher privileges than the User role are listed.

For each user the following information is shown:

  • Name - The name of the user.

  • Username - The user's unique identifier name.

  • Email address - The user's email address.

  • Phone number - The user's phone number.

  • Roles - The role or roles assigned to the user.

  • Single path permission - The path to the user group in the domain hierarchy that the user is allowed to view and manage. If no path is displayed, the user has permission to view and manage the entire domain hierarchy.

View detailed information about a specific user by selecting the user in the list.

Edit user information

To edit the user information for a user:

  1. Navigate to the Roles and permissions management view.

  2. In the list of users, select Edit for the user, and then select the General information tab.

  3. Edit the information in one or more of the boxes:

    • First name

    • Last name

    • Phone number

    • Mobile phone number

  4. Select Save user information.

    The edited user information is displayed in the list of users in the Roles and permissions management view.

Edit user roles

To edit the roles assignment for a user:

  1. Navigate to the Roles and permissions management view.

  2. In the list of users, select Edit for the user, and then select the Roles tab.

    All roles that have been set up for this Snow Device Manager domain in the Domain Admin tool are displayed. The check boxes for the roles assigned to the user are marked as selected.

  3. Select or clear the check boxes for the roles to edit the roles assignment for the user.

  4. Select Save user information.

    The roles assignment is displayed in the list of users in the Roles and permissions management view.

Edit path permission

Set path permissions for a user to restrict the user's access to a subset of the domain hierarchy. The user will only be able to view and manage the selected subset of the domain hierarchy. This can be useful for large organizations where the responsibility for managing the domain hierarchy is divided between several Managers, for example one Manager per country. Setting path permissions prevents Managers from viewing, deleting, or editing packages they have not created.

To set the path permission for a user:

  1. Navigate to the Roles and permissions management view.

  2. In the list of users, select Edit for the user, and then select the Path permission tab.

    The current path that the user has permission to view and manage is displayed in the Current management permission box. If no path is displayed, the user has permission to view and manage the entire domain hierarchy.

  3. In the Available groups section, browse the domain hierarchy and select the user group for which you want the user to have management permission.

    The path to the user group is displayed in the New management permission box. The user will have permission to manage and view the selected user group, as well as all underlying user groups.

  4. Select Save user information to save the new path permission.

    The new path permission is displayed in the list of users in the Roles and permissions management view.

To reset the path permission for the user to the default path, select Default path for the user in the list of users.

Note

A user assigned with the Manager role and with permission to only view and manage part of the domain hierarchy will still have access to the Packages overview section in the Snow Device Manager user interface. The user will therefore still be able to view and edit or delete packages belonging to other parts of the domain hierarchy.

A way to avoid this is to use the Clone role function in the Domain admin tool. You can for example create a cloned Manager role in the Domain admin, and remove the right to see Packages overview from the cloned role. Assign the cloned Manager role to the user with limited path permission. The user will have all the privileges of the default Manager role, except for access to the Packages overview section.