Skip to main content

Quarantine management

Quarantine management let you identify items that no longer report any inventory data to the Inventory Server. After a configured number of days of inactivity, the item is placed in quarantine and the status is changed from Active to Quarantined. If the item starts reporting inventory data while in quarantine, its status is automatically changed back to Active and the counter is reset. Quarantine management is by default enabled for computers and mobile devices. It has to be actively enabled for users and devices.

It is possible to configure a quarantine period for the items. This means that they stay in quarantine for another number of days, and after that, they are deleted from the system. For computers and mobile devices, an additional setting can be used to specify what will happen after the expiry of the quarantine period. Either the computer/mobile device is instantly deleted from the system or the status is set to inactive. The default setting is to delete the computer.

Quarantine management is configured in Snow Management and Configuration Center. All settings for quarantine management are listed in Basic Settings.

Enable quarantine management

  1. In Snow Management and Configuration Center and on the category menu, expand Configuration and then select Basic Settings.

  2. Enable quarantine management:

    • To enable quarantine management for computers and mobile devices, select QUARANTINE_ACTIVE.

    • To enable quarantine management for devices, select DEVICE_QUARANTINE_ACTIVE.

    • To enable quarantine management for users, select USER_QUARANTINE_ACTIVE.

  3. Enter the number of days that an item needs to be inactive before the status is changed to Quarantined to any preferred number of days:

    • To set the quarantine days for computers and mobile devices, enter the number of days in QUARANTINE_DAYS. The default value is 30 days.

    • To set the quarantine days for devices, enter the number of days in DEVICE_QUARANTINE_DAYS. The default value is 90 days.

    • To set the quarantine days for users, enter the number of days in USER_QUARANTINE_DAYS. The default value is 90 days.

Enable automatic deletion of quarantined items

  1. Go to the Basic Settings page.

  2. Enable automatic deletion of quarantined items:

    • To enable automatic deletion of quarantined items for computers and mobile devices, select QUARANTINE_DELETE_ACTIVE.

    • To enable automatic deletion of quarantined items for devices, select DEVICE_QUARANTINE_DELETE_ACTIVE.

    • To enable automatic deletion of quarantined items for users, select USER_QUARANTINE_DELETE_ACTIVE.

  3. Set the quarantine period, or the number of days that an item needs to be quarantined, to any preferred number of days:

    • To set the quarantine period for computers and mobile devices, enter the number of days in QUARANTINE_DELETE. The default value is 60 days).

    • To set the quarantine period for devices, enter the number of days in DEVICE_QUARANTINE_DELETE. The default value is 30 days.

    • To set the quarantine period for users, enter the number of days in USER_QUARANTINE_DELETE. The default value is 30 days.

  4. To specify what will happen to computers and mobile devices when the quarantine period expires, select one of the following settings in QUARANTINE_DELETE_ACTION.

    • Delete. This is the default value.

    • Set to Inactive.

    • Archive.

Example 38.

In this example, you want to configure quarantine management for computers and mobile devices. When they have been inactive for 50 days, they will be quarantined. After a quarantine period of 20 days, they will be set to inactive.

  1. Go to the Basic Settings page.

  2. Configure the quarantine management for the computers and mobile devices:

    1. Select QUARANTINE_ACTIVE.

    2. Enter 50 in QUARANTINE_DAYS.

  3. Configure the quarantine period, and what will happen, to the computers and mobile devices, when the quarantine period expires:

    1. Select QUARANTINE_DELETE_ACTIVE.

    2. In QUARANTINE_DELETE, enter 20.

    3. In QUARANTINE_DELETE_ACTION, select Set to Inactive.



Configure quarantine management for members of datacenters

If quarantine management is enabled for auto-generated datacenters, note that the members of the datacenters will not be affected by the quarantine settings. To enable quarantine management for members of datacenters, you must first remove the members from the datacenters. To remove computers from auto-generated datacenters if no new inventory data is received:

  1. Go to the Basic Settings page.

  2. In DCC_AUTODISCONNECT_DAYS, enter the number of days until the computers will be removed from auto-generated datacenters if no new inventory data is received.