CleanupMetering service

Snow License Manager 9

2021-11-17

The CleanupMetering service cleans up old and unused metering data from the Snow License Manager database to improve performance and decrease the need for database maintenance.

Configure CleanupMetering service

The CleanupMetering service is configured in Snow Management and Configuration Center and in the appsettings file.

  1. In Snow Management and Configuration Center, configure the following basic settings:

    • METERING_HISTORY_MONTHS

    • APPLICATION_CONCURRENCY_CLEANUP

    • METERING_HISTORY_CLEANUP

  2. In the appsettings file, configure the following settings:

    Default path to appsettings file: C:\Program Files\Snow Software\Snow License Manager\Services\CleanupMetering\appsettings.json.

    Setting

    Description

    Default value

    ProcessOnScheduleConcurrency

    The time when the service will execute deletion of application concurrency data.

    12:00

    ProcessOnScheduleMetering

    The time when the service will execute deletion of application metering data.

    16:00

    RowsToDeleteConcurrency

    The number of concurrency rows that the service will delete every time it runs. The service is run daily.

    200000

    RowsToDeleteMetering

    The number of metering rows that the service will delete every time it runs. The service is run daily.

    200000

View the CleanupMetering service log file

  1. To view that the service has executed background processes on the configured schedule and how long it took to finish, open the log file.

    Default path: C:\Program Files\Snow Software\Logs\CleanupMetering

  2. To view detailed information in the Action log, for example, the number of deleted rows, go to Snow License Manager user interface and navigate to Home > Administration > Action log.

Note

When the basic settings in Snow Management and Configuration Center are enabled the scripts will log the number of deleted rows and the processing time.

The service logs the background processes even when the scripts on the backend does not delete anything, for example when the basic settings in Snow Management and Configuration Center are not enabled, or when no old data exists in the database.