Manage inventory sources

  1. In the category menu, expand Configuration, and then click Inventory source.

  2. Click Add Inventory.

    The Inventory Source dialog box appears.

  3. Type a Source name of the data source.

    The Source name is a name added by customers to identify each source they configure.

  4. Select the Snow Inventory database (normally SnowInventory for Snow Inventory 5 and SNOWDB for Snow Inventory 3) in the Database name list.

    The Database name is the name of the Snow Inventory database that the source will gather data from.

  5. Type a Site name. To increase the performance of the data update job, use % as a wildcard character.

    The Site name is a value that can be used to restrict what data is gathered based on the inventory site or sites that are configured. A wildcard can be used to incorporate multiple sites that are related.

  6. To automatically connect users or computers from this inventory source to an organization node, select the node in the Organization list.

    Select <Do not set> if users and computers should not be connected to a node.

    The Organization is the organizational node configured in Snow Management and Configuration Center that the data will be added to.

    Each computer, server, mobile device, etc. that has been processed by this inventory source will show either this Organization node or a sub-node if Auto Connect Rules are configured in its Organization attribute.

  7. Select the Enable data updates check box.

    If the check box is not selected, the Data Update Job will not check for updates.

  8. Click OK to save the changes and close the Inventory Source dialog box.

  1. In the category menu, expand Configuration, and then click Inventory source.

  2. Select a source in the Inventory source list.

  3. Click Edit.

    The Inventory Source dialog box appears.

  4. Make the changes and click OK to save.

  1. In the category menu, expand Configuration and click Inventory source.

  2. Select a source in the Inventory source list.

  3. Click Delete.

  4. Click OK to confirm the deletion.