Manage collaboration services

Collaboration services are external integrations to Snow Device Manager. The external integrations can for example be integrations of users and/or devices. In this user guide, integration with Microsoft Exchange server is described. However, the procedures can also apply to firewalls, mail servers, user directories et cetera.

Microsoft Exchange communicates with Snow Device Manager using the Snow Cloud Extender tool. For more information, see the Installation guide for Snow Cloud Extender.

Allow or block users to synchronize

  1. Find the users that you want to allow or block.

  2. Select the users.

  3. On the Collaboration Services tab, perform one of the following actions:

    • Click User Allow access to allow the users and all the users’ devices to synchronize.

    • Click User Block access to block the users and all the users’ devices from synchronizing.

      The Collaboration services dialog box appears.

  4. Click Yes to allow or block the user.

    The status icon turns red to indicate that the user is not allowed to synchronize.

    The status icon turns green to indicate that the user is allowed to synchronize.

Allow or block devices to synchronize

  1. Find the users that you want to allow or block.

  2. Select the devices.

  3. On the Collaboration Services tab, perform one of the following actions:

    • Click Device Allow access to allow the devices to synchronize.

    • Click Device Block access to block the devices from synchronizing.

      The Collaboration services dialog box appears.

  4. Click Yes to allow or block the device.

    The status icon turns red to indicate that the device is not allowed to synchronize.

    The status icon turns green to indicate that the device is allowed to synchronize.

View synchronization status

The synchronization status of devices and users is represented by icons. To view the synchronization status, navigate for example to the Collaboration services page on the Devices workbench.

Device associated with collaboration service

Icon

Short description

Long description

image134.png

Device associated

Device is associated with a collaboration service.

No icon

Device not associated

Device is not associated with a collaboration service.

Access state of associated user

Icon

Short description

Long description

image136.png

User allowed

The user is allowed to synchronize and will synchronize with the server, if the device is not blocked.

image138.png

User blocked

The user is blocked and not allowed to synchronize.

image140.png

User not associated

The user is not associated with a collaboration service. The user may have been added manually or via CSV import.

Access state of associated device

Icon

Short description

Long description

image142.png

Device allowed

The device is allowed to synchronize and will synchronize with the server, if the user is not blocked.

image144.png

Device blocked

The device or the user is blocked and not allowed to synchronize.

image146.png

Device discovery

The device is recognized by the collaboration server.

image148.png

Device quarantined

The device is in quarantine and cannot access collaboration services.

Synchronization state of device

Icon

Short description

Description

image150.png

Active

The device was synchronized within the last hour.

image152.png

OK

The device was synchronized within the last 24 hours.

image154.png

Poor

The device was synchronized more than 24 hours ago.

image156.png

Non

The device is not synchronized.

image158.png

Unknown

The synchronization status of the device is currently unknown.