Quarantine management

Quarantine management helps to identify items that no longer report any inventory data to the Inventory Server. After a configured number of days of inactivity, the item is placed in quarantine and the status is changed from Active to Quarantined mode. If the item starts reporting inventory data while in quarantine, its status is automatically changed back to Active mode and the counter is reset. Quarantine management is by default enabled for computers and mobile devices. It has to be actively enabled for users and devices which is done in Snow Management and Configuration Center, see description later in this topic.

It is possible to configure a quarantine period for the items. This means that they stay in quarantine for another number of days, and after that they are deleted from the system. For computers and mobile devices, an additional setting can be used to specify what will happen after the expiry of the quarantine period. Either the computer/mobile device is instantly deleted from the system or the status is set to inactive. Default setting is to delete the computer.

All settings for quarantine management are listed in Basic Settings.

To enable quarantine management:

  1. Log in to Snow Management and Configuration Center (Snow MACC).

  2. In the category menu, expand Configuration and then click Basic Settings.

  3. In the Basic Settings view, do the following:

    • for computers and mobile devices, click the QUARANTINE_ACTIVE check box

    • for devices, click the DEVICE_QUARANTINE_ACTIVE check box

    • for users, click the USER_QUARANTINE_ACTIVE check box.

  4. To set the quarantine value (the number of days that an item needs to be inactive) to any preferred number of days:

    • for computers and mobile devices, change the QUARANTINE_DAYS setting

      (default value is 30 days)

    • for devices, change the DEVICE_QUARANTINE_DAYS setting

      (default value is 90 days)

    • for users, change the USER_QUARANTINE_DAYS setting.

      (default value is 90 days)

To enable automatic deletion of quarantined items:

  1. Log in to Snow Management and Configuration Center (Snow MACC).

  2. In the category menu, expand Configuration and then click Basic Settings.

  3. In the Basic Settings view, do the following:

    • for computers and mobile devices, click the QUARANTINE_DELETE_ACTIVE check box,

    • for devices, click the DEVICE_QUARANTINE_DELETE_ACTIVE check box,

    • for users, click the USER_QUARANTINE_DELETE_ACTIVE check box.

  4. To set the quarantine period (the number of days that an item needs to be quarantined) to any preferred number of days:

    • for computers and mobile devices, change the QUARANTINE_DELETE setting

      (default value is 60 days)

    • for devices, change the DEVICE_QUARANTINE_DELETE setting

      (default value is 30 days)

    • for users, change the USER_QUARANTINE_DELETE setting

      (default value is 30 days)

  5. To specify what will happen to computers and mobile devices after the expiry of the quarantine period, use the setting QUARANTINE_DELETE_ACTION. Set it to either Delete (default), Set to Inactive, or Archive.

Example 89.

In this example, the customer wants to configure quarantine management for computers and mobile devices. When they have been inactive for 50 days, they will be quarantined. After a quarantine period of 20 days they will be set to inactive.

  1. Log in to Snow Management and Configuration Center (Snow MACC).

  2. In the category menu, expand Configuration and then click Basic Settings.

  3. In the Basic settings view, configure the quarantine management:

    1. Verify that the QUARANTINE_ACTIVE check box is enabled.

    2. Set the QUARANTINE_DAYS value to 50 (days).

  4. In the Basic settings view, configure the quarantine period and action at quarantine expiry:

    1. Click the QUARANTINE_DELETE_ACTIVE check box.

    2. Set the QUARANTINE_DELETE value to 20 (days).

    3. Set the QUARANTINE_DELETE_ACTION to Set to Inactive.