When you remove a cloud account, you aren't deleting files or records of any VMs, hosts, datacenters, clusters, or resource pools. You're removing the cloud account from Commander only. In standard operations, this task is used rarely or never.
The following are deleted when you remove a cloud account and are not restored when the cloud account is re-added:
- Policies targeting the cloud account.
- Deployment destinations targeting the cloud account.
- Location filters in report templates. If you have saved report templates with a filter targeting a cloud account and that cloud account is removed, the filter will be set to "Unknown".
AWS billing data retrieval: Billing report configuration isn't restored when a cloud account is re-added. If you're using AWS consolidated billing and you remove the cloud account that is the designated payer account, billing data retrieval is disabled for any linked accounts. Billing data retrieval is also disabled for any GovCloud accounts associated with the removed cloud account.
- Azure billing data retrieval: Billing report configuration for Azure isn't restored when a cloud account is re-added.
The following are preserved when you remove a cloud account:
- Scheduled tasks targeting a cloud account are preserved when the cloud account is deleted. Before removing a cloud account, disable any scheduled tasks that target the cloud account.
- Saved searches targeting a cloud account are preserved when the cloud account is deleted. Before removing a cloud account, edit or delete any saved searches that target the cloud account.
- Service Catalog entries that include components from a cloud account are preserved when the cloud account is deleted. Service catalog entries that contain components which have been deleted are automatically hidden from requesters.
- Custom attributes on infrastructure elements are preserved; there is no danger related to custom attributes when removing a cloud account.
- Media library folders targeting the cloud account are preserved, and datastore paths for the media folders are automatically restored when the cloud account is re-added.
AWS tags and custom attribute synchronization configuration is preserved when the cloud account is re-added.
- Azure tags and custom attribute synchronization configuration is preserved when the cloud account is re-added.
- Kubernetes linkages: Linkages between Kubernetes nodes and underlying VMs are preserved when either the Kubernetes cloud account or the underlying cloud account is removed.
Views > Inventory
Commander Roles of Superuser and Enterprise Admin
To remove a cloud account:
- Click the Infrastructure or Applications tab.
- From the Inventory tree, select the cloud account that you want to remove.
- On the Summary page, select Actions > Remove Cloud Account and click OK.
If you re-add a cloud account after it was removed, make sure that you disable the Default Attributes Policy for the cloud account before you re-add it, and then re-enable the policy after the cloud account has been re-added. Otherwise, the Default Attributes policy overrides previously set expiry dates, and expiry groups.